Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Wayne County asst prosecutor wins prestigious federal award

The Federal Bar Association has selected Timothy Baughman, Wayne County Prosecutor’s Office Chief of Research, Training and Appeals as this year’s recipient of the prestigious Leonard Gillman Award. The Gilman Award is given annually to an outstanding practitioner of criminal law who exemplifies the excellence, professionalism, and commitment to public service of Mr. Gilman, who was the U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Michigan at the time of his death in 1985. The selection is made by prior recipients of the award, many of whom served with and knew Mr. Gilman.

Timothy A. Baughman
Mr. Baughman began his employment with the Wayne County Prosecutor’s Office in 1975, and became Chief of Research, Training, and Appeals in 1986. He has appeared seven times in the United States Supreme Court. He has argued successfully on all but one occasion. He has also supervised the briefing and argument of four other cases in that court, as well as appearing over 70 times in the Michigan Supreme Court. He is the author of two books, and various articles on criminal law and criminal procedure. He served for eight years as an adjunct professor of law at Wayne State University Law School, teaching Criminal Procedure. Mr. Baughman was appointed as Reporter by the Michigan Supreme Court for its Committee to Revise the Rules of Criminal Procedure. He lectures for the National College of District Attorneys, the Michigan Judicial Institute, the Michigan State Bar, the Prosecuting Attorneys Association of Michigan, and various state prosecutors offices around the country. In recent years he has been recognized as a Michigan Lawyers Weekly Lawyer of the Year and as a Leader in the Law.

Former Michigan Supreme Court Justice Patricia Boyle has said about Mr. Baughman:
"There is no lawyer whose skills and successes have contributed more to Wayne County's reputation for outstanding legal expertise than Timothy Baughman. He is known throughout the state and nation as a superb researcher, litigator, advocate and teacher. In thirty some years of judging, on Recorder's Court, Federal District Court and sixteen years on the Michigan Supreme Court, I have never seen an all around better lawyer. Tim Baughman is the jewel of Michigan's criminal law jurisprudence."

Wayne County Prosecutor Kym L. Worthy said:
"Tim Baughman is simply an outstanding lawyer. His intelligence, knowledge of the law and his sense of fairness makes him an asset not only to this office, but to the entire legal community. Last month Tim was one of my forced layoffs. We hope that there will be a remedy to that action soon. I cannot think of any other person with his legal credentials across the county. He is most deserving of this award"

Upon learning that he is the 2013 Gilman Award recipient, Mr. Baughman said:
“I am humbled and proud to receive an award carrying the name of Lenny Gilman, and which has been received by such an illustrious group of past recipients, many of whom I have worked with and long admired. I met Lenny Gilman working on Boyle campaigns, and heard memorable stories about him! It is an honor to be associated with one of his spirit and integrity, an honor that is possible only because of those who have allowed me to serve the People of the State of Michigan these last 38 years, particularly Pat and Terry Boyle, William Cahalan, John O’Hair, and Kym Worthy.”

The award will be presented to Mr. Baughman on April 30, by the Federal Bar Association at the Westin Book Cadillac Hotel located at 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI. There will be an 11:30 a.m. reception with a noon luncheon to follow. Oakland County Circuit Court Judge Edward Sosnick is the keynote speaker for the event. To register online please go to:

Past Recipients of the Leonard R. Gilman Award
1985 Joel M. Shere
1986 David F. DuMouchel
1987 Paul D. Borman
1988 Robert M. Morgan
1989 Maura D. Corrigan
1990 Neil H. Fink
1991 Timothy M. Kenney
1992 Alan Gershel
1993 Blondell L. Morey
1994 Miriam Siefer
1995 Thomas W. Cranmer
1996 Michael C. Leibson
1997 Ross G. Parker
1998 Harold Z. Gurewitz
1999 Nancy J. Diehl
2000 Federal Defender’s Office
2001 Robert W. Haviland
2002 Anthony Chambers
2003 Ronald E. Covault
2004 Robert Cares
2005 Kenneth R. Sasse, Eric M. Strauss
2006 Michael J. Hluchaniuk
2007 James C. Thomas
2008 Stephen T. Rabaut 
2009 Lynn A. Helland 
2010 Douglas R. Mullkoff 
2011 Wayne F. Pratt
2012 Margaret Sind Raben


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home