Thursday, April 4, 2013

No surprise in Macomb with state business court assignments

The assignment of Judge John Foster to the Macomb County “business court” at Circuit Court wasn’t surprising since he’s been serving in that role for more than a year.
The state Supreme Court yesterday announcement 18 assignments to the court statewide. It’s part of a new law that requires circuit courts with three or more judges to have “business courts” for business and commercial cases where the amount at stake is over $25,000; circuit  courts with fewer judges may choose to have a business court docket. Business court cases include those where all the parties are “business enterprises,” as well as disputes between a business and individuals connected with it, such as employees, directors, owners, or shareholders. Some claims on behalf or against a nonprofit may also come before business courts, as can cases about corporate governance, finance, organization, and others.

Chief Justice Robert P. Young, Jr., said in a press release that business courts “complement Michigan  judicial branch’s three part reform plan: Court performance, technology, efficiency with the best possible service to the public as the goal.”
The business court act calls for electronic filing of legal documents “whenever possible,”
as opposed to paper filings. PA 333 also encourages business courts to use telephone or video conferencing, and early use of alternative dispute resolution. Business
courts’ written opinions “shall be made available on an indexed website,” the act provides.
The business court judges will serve terms expiring April 1, 2019. The business courts are scheduled to accept their first filings by July 1.

On the list of assigned business court judges:

3rd Circuit Court (Wayne)
Hon. Jeanne Stempien

22nd Circuit Court (Washtenaw)
Hon. Archie C. Brown

31st Circuit Court (St. Clair)
Hon. Daniel J. Kelly

6th Circuit Court (Oakland)
Hon. James M. Alexander
Hon. Wendy L. Potts

38th Circuit Court (Monroe)
Hon. Michael W. LaBeau

16th Circuit Court (Macomb)
Hon. John C. Foster

7th Circuit Court (Genesee)
Hon. Judith Anne Fullerton

4th Circuit Court (Jackson)
Hon. Richard N. LaFlamme

9th Circuit Court (Kalamazoo)
Hon. J. Richardson Johnson

14th Circuit Court (Muskegon)
Hon. Neil G. Mullally

17th Circuit Court (Kent)
Hon. Christopher P. Yates

20th Circuit Court (Ottawa)
Hon. Jon A. Van Allsburg

30th Circuit
Court (Ingham)
Hon. Joyce A. Draganchuk

37th Circuit Court (Calhoun)
Hon. James C. Kingsley
Berrien County Trial Court
Hon. John E. Dewane

10th Circuit Court (Saginaw)
Hon. M. Randall Jurrens

18th Circuit Court (Bay)
Hon. Kenneth W. Schmid


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home